Red’s Hot Women internship: THE FOODIE EXPERIENCE

26-03-10 – Last Day

Posted in Uncategorized by Katie Bryson on March 26, 2010

Well it finally came around – the last day of my internship. I almost didn’t want to go in so it wouldn’t have to end – if that makes any sense at all?!

The office was full of talk about the Delia and Heston three minute ad that aired on TV last night.

By 1pm the rhubarb and pork figures were in! Delia’s rhubarb brulee recipe had inspired customers to buy a massive 42,000 units of rhubarb. Heston’s tip for cooking roast pork had sent people into stores for a whopping 19,000kg!

I imagine those figures will be increasing by the minute!

The main task today was helping out with a big event that Maria had organised for all the partners at Head Office promoting the Delia and Heston campaign.

Neil and his trusty food team cooked up hundreds of portions of roast pork which they served in bread rolls, and mini pots of rhubarb brulee (blowtorching the top to make the yummy crust).

Loads of partners turned up and there was a great atmosphere, so it was a lovely way to finish my internship. I manned the raffle so got the chance to talk to pretty much everyone there.

I was really overwhelmed when the Food Team whisked me off to an office to present me with a card and some thoughtful pressies – totally unexpected.

I’m going to really miss everyone and have felt so welcome and included. It’s only been four weeks but I feel like I’ve been working there for months. It’s going to be very weird not going back on Monday.

The team have gone out of their way to make my month varied and interesting.

I feel that as well as the valuable insight into the way Waitrose operates, I’ve gained so much from a personal perspective.

It was quite scary making the decision to take voluntary redundancy from my long standing job and career at the BBC. It was a comfortable pair of shoes that I could have kept on my entire working life.

However I took a deep breath and decided to make a change. The internship at Waitrose has given me a renewed confidence and self belief that I don’t think I could have got anywhere else.

I’ve made some great contacts, worked with some fantastic people, learnt a lot about the food industry and above all confirmed that I’m ready to get myself a new career!

Thanks again to everyone at Waitrose for making my month so amazing. You’ve not seen the last of me I hope! Thanks Red Magazine for the opportunity and a HUGE thank you to my friends and family for supporting me and reading my blog!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rosemary Hamilton said, on March 27, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    What a way to finish, I’ll miss reading your blog,I’ve found it a very interesting four weeks and it has been great to follow your every step.Wishing you all the best for your future. Your time at Waitrose has certainly been eye opening and something money could not buy!


Leave a Reply

