Red’s Hot Women internship: THE FOODIE EXPERIENCE

04-03-2010 – Cakes, doughnuts, pastries, tarts and Yum Yums!

Posted in Uncategorized by Katie Bryson on March 5, 2010

Well today I’ve sampled my bodyweight in baked goods and I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to eat again!

We visited Hayden’s Bakeries in sunny Wiltshire who make all kinds of delicious sweet things for Waitrose.

We started the day with a chat over coffee and freshly baked pastries.

Then it was time to get kitted out for a tour of the factory. Hairnets, white coats and special shoes – see me not quite rocking the look below!

It was captivating watching the raw ingredients go on their journey around the factory to be transformed into the perfectly finished products you see on the shelves or behind the cake counter at Waitrose.

You feel like you’re in Gulliver’s Kingdom with all the oversized scales, mixers and ovens dwarfing the workers operating them.

I was really impressed to see how the staff also hand finish things to give them a truly artisan look.

We saw doughnuts being iced and sprinkled, cream lovingly spread across sheets of pastry the size of my kitchen table and dozens of Yum Yums paddling across a pool only to be doused with lashings of icing at the other end. I think I’ll still be dreaming about it when I go to sleep!

Someone asked me if it was impossible to eat too much cake – well I think I finally reached that point in the development kitchen.

Plate after plate of utterly delicious cakes, pastries and tarts were handed around for us to try.

I’m starting to understand why some of the team subtly spit out the food they’re tasting into a cup after each mouthful. But something in me just finds the concept of gobbing out perfectly gorgeous food just plain wrong.

On the way home from the bakery we stopped off to check out a local branch of Waitrose. It was great to put everything I’ve seen and tasted so far this week into the context of a store.

It’s only been four days but I already feel like I’ve learned an incredible amount this week.

The team are being very generous with the way they share the benefit of their knowledge and experience with me. They always take the time to explain everything and include me in their conversations. What a privilege!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rosemary Hamilton said, on March 5, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Thoroughly enjoying reading Katie’s blog,her enthusiasm is coming over loud and clear!
    What a great hat!


Leave a Reply

